so this is love

I looked across the table at Amy and poured her another glass of Merlot. The meal was perfect, the service impeccable. We couldn’t have asked for a better first night. Amy took her glass, smiled me a nervous smile, and drank a little more. She wanted to brave, knowing what was next.

“You’re nervous Amy.”

“Yes Noah, aren’t you?”

“Of course, but I’m also very excited. I’ve wanted this for a long time.”

Amy cocked her head to one side and looked at me with those bright blue eyes. “Me too Noah, I’ve dreamt of this moment.”

My heart fluttered. I don’t remember how long we sat there, simply gazing into each other’s eyes. We’d avert our eyes for a moment, bashfully, only to return with a coy smile. She was a picture of beauty and a feast for my eyes. Words were not spoken for some time, our silence was well enough understood. And without speaking, we both stood, knowing it was time to leave. It was time.

I don’t remember the cab ride back to the hotel.
I don’t remember the concierge greeting us as we walked to the elevator.
I don’t remember the walk down the hallway to our room.

I remember her scent as I kissed her neck, and slid her dress from her shoulders.
I remember the taste of wine on her lips, and the warmth of her tongue.
I remember her sigh as my hand slid up her thigh.
I remember her laugh when I fumbled with her bra.
I remember her soft hands on my bare chest.
I remember the coolness of the sheets as I lay her down.
I remember her biting my lip as I entered her for the first time.
I remember her call my name.
I remember my heart pounding.
I remember her back arching.
I remember my fire.

Most of all, I remember our embrace. Tangled in sheets and each others arms, we breathed in time, in tune. And I remember what I thought as we fell asleep.

“So this is love.”

Leave a Reply

